International Women’s ddDay

Yes, you read the title right.  Not just International Women’s Day (8 March 2016), but IWD with a double “d.”

No, that’s not the kind of double D that I mean.

But I’m getting ahead of my story.  First, let me tell you about me.

I’m a sensitive new-age kind of guy.  They call us “snags” for some reason.

It’s not easy being a snag.  Especially if you’re a boss.  And I am.  I have to be aware of other people’s feelings.  Yuck.

Most of the time I don’t have time to care.

Awwwww.  Did I hurt your feelings?

I’m sorry.  Now get over it and get back to work!

I’m not into hugs or big on emotional support either.  Toughen up!

But there’s a part of my life that has snagged my heart, hook line and sinker.

I have a daughter.

Oh, the feeling of love and attachment as that baby girl hangs onto my hairy arms will be with me till my last breath.

It got even better as we aged together.

Finger painting, the entire garage in permanent paint.

Jewelry making, ancient Egyptian style.  She pasted earrings on me one day while I was asleep.  A coworker finally pointed them out in the afternoon.

Puddle splashing, mud pie making, and chemistry in the kitchen.  All wonderful memories.

Yes, we went through a tough period.  She was discovering her own “feelings” and being influenced by “friends” I wished she never met.

But we got through all of those, stronger and smarter.

Today she’s a wonderful young woman with a bright future.

So what’s the problem?

The problem began even before her second birthday.

An aunt got her a box of glittery nail polish and assorted other glitz for her face.

Soon after, her mother and grandmother would spend what seemed like hours discussing her hair.

“So what,” you say.  “This is normal.”

Really?  You mean every mother does the exact same thing to every daughter everywhere in the world?  Have they been doing this since humanity was invented?

Wait.  You’re probably right.

Today’s woman, including my daughter, prides herself on being unique. Her dress, hair, makeup, and especially the shoes, they all add up to one very unique person.

Then what’s my problem?

Because my daughter, and women in general, complain that men constantly evaluate them based on their appearance.

How can they not?  Women work hard to make their appearance noticeable.

So when men, feeble minded for the most part, make comments about a woman’s appearance, why is it such a surprise?

It shouldn’t be.

And here’s my solution to start stopping the men.

Let’s combine International Women’s Day with a dress down day.  And not just “dress down,” but all women dress alike!

Why not?

Men already have something similar.  They wear T-shirts, jeans, and sneakers.  And men dress like this most of the time.

Wait.  Women want something fancier?  Men, get out those suits.  Done.

For women the job is going to be a bit harder.  But they have to start somewhere.

“Dressing down” doesn’t have to mean dingy.  Make sure it’s comfortable, has good skin coverage without being a burka.  It has to be accepted across the world, without looking like it doesn’t belong.

How about a white button down shirt, baggy blue slacks, and black pumps?  No fancy hair, no earrings, no jewelry.  Oh, and absolutely no makeup.  Just you.

Can you handle it?  Can you handle the truth?

Yes, the truth.

Because when it’s just you, both men and women will be forced to know you as, well, you.

Don’t worry.  It’s only one day a year.

On the next day you can spend an hour on your hair, face, wardrobe and jewelry.

And men will notice, whether we’re sensitive or not.

We just won’t know who you really are.

 

Leave a Reply

