Kind of Reality

Did you know that what we’re studying isn’t real?  Really!

Behavior, that is.  Not real, that is.  It’s kind of real, but not real at the same time.  Hold on a minute, I think I need to eat something.

That’s better – I have a clear head finally.  Garlic pesto pasta does the trick.  And it’s a good place to start our discussion.  My plate of pasta is real.  It’s real in the sense that I can touch it, weigh it, smell it, taste it (YUM!), and in all other ways document its properties such that other people can verify my measurements.  So if you were my guest (Come on over! You can bring the ice cream!) you could repeat my measurements and come to the same numbers – or close anyway.  We could take photographs and look at them years later, and still agree that what we see was, in fact, real.

This is physical reality.  It’s the best kind of reality, because it’s the kind that can hit you in the face if you’re not careful.  Well, best may not be the best word, but it is best because we can’t argue that my pasta wasn’t real.  The same goes for my stove, Parmesan cheese, and garlic.  They are real, physically real.

Can you guess what the other types of reality are?  Go ahead, we need something to talk about while we sip the last dregs of wine and have some of that ice cream.  Here are some hints.  The stove in my example is going to be real for a long long time.  The garlic and cheese, on the other hand, are only going to exist for a short time.

So send in those guesses!  In the meantime, I’m going downstairs for some of that pasta.  I firmly believe that a person can’t have too much garlic.  Unfortunately for my coworkers, I think they disagree!

 

Leave a Reply

