I believe you

We finished watching a Korean drama, and in between segments managed to catch a few commercials.  I learned that I can save a lot of money in 7 minutes on my car insurance.  That I should get a certain cable upgrade because I’ll have faster internet.  And that the VA hospital system is a great place to work.

Because I watch streaming content, I’m exposed to a small fraction of what most see.  Yet in those few minutes I’ve already been drowned in a whole bunch of hooey.  Will I really save that much by checking someone else’s car insurance?  Only if I’m willing to give up some of the service I already receive.  Things like having a phone number to call if I’m in trouble.  Or getting a deductible lower than $5,000.

What about the cable company?  I can always believe what they say, right?  I’m already convinced the cable company is slowing down my internet as it is.  Why should I pay them even more so that they can speed it up again?  Sounds like extortion to me.

And is the VA hospital really that great a place to work?  My guess is that they are doing some public relations damage control for new hires.  I’m sure the doctors are all good and mean well.  But the reputation of the hospital overall has been on life support for a few years now.  Talk to any vet in the system; there’s room for improvement.

And these commercials are the tip of the iceberg.  There’s energy drinks, super chic clothing, shoes that will get you noticed, beer that will get you a date, and perfume that will get you, well, married.  Where will it end?

It’s only going to end when the targets get smart, like they used to be.  Way back when, whacky commercials didn’t get the customers.  Now there’s super sex appeal, highly engineered images, and sophisticated market research that goes into most ads.  It’s hard to fight that kind of technology, but fight we must.  The more we give up our brains to satisfy our emotional needs, the less human we become.  We are fodder for the economy, like a crop to be harvested.  And that’s just dumb.

 

 

2 thoughts on “I believe you

  1. I have a premium account on Viki and dramafever so I don’t get commercials. It costs monthly, but I find it worth is. Commercials weigh on me after a while. It’s really nice to watch shows with no interruptions or garbage cluttering your mind.

    • Thanks zhaoul! Actually, I don’t mind the commercials aside from the annoyance factor. I have to be “connected” to mainstream society somehow or other. “No man is an island…” someone once said.

Leave a Reply

