I’m HAP(py)!

Guess why I’m so happy!  Go ahead, guess.

Oh, never mind, I’ll tell you.  I’m a happy guy because I have a good idea of what’s going on.  I know why I’m here, why you’re here, and why our dog wags his tail.  I’m centered, grounded, rich in health and family, content with my lot, and pure of spirit.  I even have a few dollars in the bank.

No matter how you want to say it, the real reason is that I have a good idea as to what it’s all about.  How did I get this way?

First, I became a philosopher.  Philosophers think about thinking, and I thought a lot about lots of stuff.  But a lot of philosophers spend a lot of time throwing around dead names and confusing definitions.  That certainly didn’t make me happy.  I still hang out a bit on some philosophy boards, and they are just as confusing as 30 years ago.

I became a different kind of philosopher – a High Altitude Philosopher.  And by high, I mean the moon (on occasion).  By standing on the moon and looking back on our Earth, it’s amazing how many petty problems disappear.  It’s amazing how simple our lives become as well.  And that’s why I’m such a HAPpy guy.

Go ahead, ask me something tough, and I’ll tell you what it looks like from the moon.  Try it yourself.  You might be surprised at how you start to cherish your self, your own life, ad your loved ones.  And how much you realize your problems are indeed very very small.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

